I’m going to Peru! ¡Voy a Perú!


Hello! ¡Hola!

My love story with Spanish began almost 22 years ago when I took my very first Spanish class. I never thought that it would have developed into the daily passion it has. I have this burning desire to continually fill my mind with as much of this language and of Spanish culture that I possibly can.

I have the incredible opportunity of co-leading a group of 10 amazing people from Journey Church and the Charlotte area on a service project to Huánuco, Perú from August 3-9, 2013.  My Spanish speaking skills will be utilized for possible translation between our group and native Spanish speakers in Perú as well as conversations with the residents of the Hovde House in Huánuco, Perú.

Image

Image

“This house serves one of the most vulnerable communities of children in Perú, victims of sexual abuse and domestic violence. Perú has one of the highest rates of child abuse (and rape) in the world; Huánuco, a city of 250,000 people in a wider region of 800,000 is severely affected by this atrocity, often ‘explained’ by the prevalence of alcoholism, illiteracy,  corruption, and the lack of rule of law.

Image

This house currently provides temporary shelter to approximately 40-50 young women who have suffered sexual abuse, and for some of them, it’s a safe place to raise their unexpected children. These girls receive counseling, education, skills training, and love from qualified staff, while our partner organization, Paz y Esperanza, fights for justice in court against their perpetrators. Only after their homes and communities are safe again, do the girls go home.” (from www.hovdefoundation.org)

We individually need to raise $1800. I would appreciate any gifts you can give whether monetary or in your thoughts and prayers for our trip. I look forward to being able to share with you the incredible work that is happening in Perú! Please also follow me on facebook for updates and pictures!

Thank you, Gracias,
Kelley

Leave a Reply

